Student Resources Picture South Seattle Community CollegeLink to the search option and site index page.
Student Resources Picture
Seattle, Programs, Courses, Degrees, Certificates, and Training
International Students
Enrolling
Student Online Services
Calendar
Student Resources
Campus Information
Foundation
Home

Student Resources Picture
 Student Resources > Office of Diversity & Retention > Initiatives > BIRST

Bias Incident Response/Support Team

Diversity & Retention Home
Office of Diversity and Retention
Initiatives
Cultural Center
Women's Center
News, Events, Opportunities

Forms
Incident Report Form 
Procedures for Reporting Incidents
Student Incident Flow Chart

The Bias Incident Response/Support Team (BIRST) addresses campus climate and advocacy for persons affected by bias motivated incidents at South Seattle Community College. BIRST consists of a team of campus employees who are standing members or appointed by campus employees and trained in identifying, addressing, and documenting incidences of bias on campus.  In cases where an offender can be identified, there are existing campus procedures to follow (as outlined in this document); however, instances in which the offender is unknown, the BIRST acts as the primary point of contact and advocate.  BIRST works closely with other campus departments to ensure the appropriate documentation and reporting of all bias incidences.

Definitions

A Bias Motivated Incident is an action in which a person or group is intentionally targeted and subjected to harassment because of their actual or perceived disability; race, ethnicity, or national origin; religion; sexual orientation, and, for the purposes of this plan, sex, gender, gender identity, and gender expression, but the offense does not rise to the level of a crime.

Role of the Bias Incident Response/Support Team

  • Making every effort to contact person affected within 24 hours and, while respecting whatever decision they have made, encourage them to pursue some type of assistance.
  • Providing advice on the college's discrimination complaint procedures, and academic assistance.
  • Providing advocacy for the person affected in other proceedings.
  • Providing appropriate counseling referral to the person affected.
  • Providing appropriate medical referral.

Bias Incident Response/Support Team (BIRST)

Name

Department

Contact

Dorrienne Chinn

BTS Faculty

206.934.6702
Dorrienne.Chinn@seattlecolleges.edu 

Teri Eguchi

Academic Faculty

206.934.5825
Teri.Eguchi@seattlecolleges.edu

Cessa Heard-Johnson

Dean of Diversity, Retention and Student Life

206.934.6749
Cessa.Heard-Johnson@seattlecolleges.edu

James Lewis

Manager of Safety & Security

206-934-5157
James.Lewis@seattlecolleges.edu

Ricardo Leyva-Puebla

Director of Diversity and Retention

206-934-6455
Ricardo.Leyva-Puebla@seattlecolleges.edu

 

United Student Association Student Advocate Position

206-934-6752

Jennifer Lowe

Program Assistant, Nursing Classified

206-934-6680
Jennifer.Lowe@seattlecolleges.edu

Kim Manderbach

Vice President of Student Services

206-934-6763
Kim.Manderbach@seattlecolleges.edu

Allen Stowers

Professional Technical Faculty

206.934.6897
Allen.Stowers@seattlecolleges.edu

Kathy Vedvick

Director of Human Relations

206-934-6415
Kathy.Vedvick@seattlecolleges.edu

 

Back to Top | Home | Disclaimer | Contact Us
©2009 South Seattle Community College     All rights reserved.