Forms
Incident Report Form
Procedures for Reporting Incidents
Student Incident Flow Chart

The Bias Incident Response/Support Team (BIRST) addresses campus climate and advocacy for persons affected by bias motivated incidents at South Seattle Community College. BIRST consists of a team of campus employees who are standing members or appointed by campus employees and trained in identifying, addressing, and documenting incidences of bias on campus. In cases where an offender can be identified, there are existing campus procedures to follow (as outlined in this document); however, instances in which the offender is unknown, the BIRST acts as the primary point of contact and advocate. BIRST works closely with other campus departments to ensure the appropriate documentation and reporting of all bias incidences.

Definitions

A Bias Motivated Incident is an action in which a person or group is intentionally targeted and subjected to harassment because of their actual or perceived disability; race, ethnicity, or national origin; religion; sexual orientation, and, for the purposes of this plan, sex, gender, gender identity, and gender expression, but the offense does not rise to the level of a crime.

Role of the Bias Incident Response/Support Team

  • Making every effort to contact person affected within 24 hours and, while respecting whatever decision they have made, encourage them to pursue some type of assistance.
  • Providing advice on the college's discrimination complaint procedures, and academic assistance.
  • Providing advocacy for the person affected in other proceedings.
  • Providing appropriate counseling referral to the person affected.
  • Providing appropriate medical referral.

Bias Incident Response/Support Team (BIRST)

Allen Stowers
Faculty, Professional Technical

206.934.6897

Allen.stowers@seattlecolleges.edu 

Amelia Nguyen  (not available in Summer)
Student Issues and Concerns Chair,
United Student Association

206.306.6688

unguyen719@southseattle.edu

Dorrienne Chinn
Faculty, Basic and Transitional Studies

206.934.6702

Dorrienne.chinn@seattlecolleges.edu  

Erin Barzen
Completion Coach Lead, Student Services

206.934.6720

Erin.barzen@seattlecolleges.edu

Greg Dempsey
Dean of Enrollment Services,
Student Services

206.934.5378

Greg.dempsey@seattlecolleges.edu

James Lewis
Manager of Safety & Security

206.934.5157

James.lewis@seattlecolleges.edu

Jennifer Lowe
Program Assistant, Nursing

206.934.6680

Jennifer.lowe@seattlecolleges.edu  

Kathy Vedvick
Director of Human Relations

206-934-6415

kathy.vedvick@seattlecolleges.edu

Ricardo Leyva-Puebla
Director of Diversity and Retention

206.934.6455

ricardo.leyva-puebla@seattlecolleges.edu

Rose Kolovrat
Director, Special Student Services

206.934.5137

Roxanne.tilman@seattlecolleges.edu

Rosie Rimando-Chareunsap
Vice President of Student Services

206.934.6763

Rosie.Rimando@seattlecolleges.edu

Sarah Bowman
Executive Assistant, Student Services

206.934.6788

Sarah.Bowman@seattlecolleges.edu

Teri Nakashima
Faculty, Academic

206.934.5825

teri.nakashima@seattlecolleges.edu  



Location:

Jerry Brockey Student Center
(JMB 133)
map

Hours:

Monday - Thursday:
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Friday:
8:30 am to 1:00 pm