South Seattle College Alert: Opening is delayed two hours on Friday, Dec. 9, due to inclement weather. Campuses will open at 10 a.m.

Mission Statement

Cultivating a learning environment that champions Social Justice


  1. Provide the campus learning opportunities to enhance critical social justice understanding
  2. Provide equitable, diverse, and inclusive program opportunities for student success
  3. Develop and promote equitable, diverse, and inclusive practices in order to create institutional change


Diversity Matters.

The Diversity & Retention Department includes an Office of Diversity & Retention, President’s Committee on Diversity and Retention, a Cultural Center, Veterans Student Center, and the Women’s Center. Diversity & Retention is a network of departments working together to foster an inclusive campus community by providing education about diversity, social justice, gender equity, and multiculturalism. We advocate for the persistence and success of student, faculty and staff of color and underrepresented groups through academics, leadership opportunities, support services, programming and college-wide initiatives.

Meet the Diversity & Retention Staff

Ricardo Leyva-Puebla
Director – Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The Director is responsible for the Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, which includes the Cultural, Gender Equity, and Veterans Student Centers.

Phone: (206) 934-6455
Office hours: M-Th, 8:30 am - 5 pm
Office: JMB 135

Ricardo Leyva-Puebla

John Eklof
Cultural Center Coordinator

The Cultural Center, located in JMB 146, is a community center/space for students, faculty, and staff to explore their own cultural identities as well as learn about other cultures in a safe, secure environment.

Phone: (206) 934-7950
Office hours:
M-T, 10am-430pm
W, 10am-330pm
Office: JMB 146

John Eklof

Sol Mendez
Gender Equity Center Coordinator

The Gender Equity Center (JMB 148) is dedicated to supporting the academic, personal, and professional success of women in the campus community by providing resource referrals, educational programs addressing women’s issues, and a friendly, supportive environment for individuals of all gender identities.

Phone: (206) 934-6831
Office: JMB 148

Sol Mendez

John Phillips
Veterans Student Center Coordinator

The Veterans Student Center is a Resource for Service, Learning, and Leadership in our Global Community

Phone: (206) 934-5308 or (206) 934-5837
Office: Robert Smith Building/Information Desk CAS 120

John Eklof


Jerry Brockey Student Center
(JMB 133)


Monday - Thursday:
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

8:30 am to 1:00 pm